The Canadian Health Economist’s Study Group is an annual conference of economists with an interest in theoretical or empirical economic analysis of issues related to health or health care. It will be held May 27 – 28th at The Faculty Club, University of Toronto ( The conference typically covers a day and a half. Registration deadline is May 12th, 2015.

Frank Lichtenberg Headshot Photo

Keynote speaker: Prof. Frank Lichtenberg

Frank R. Lichtenberg is Courtney C. Brown Professor of Business at the Columbia University Graduate School of Business; a Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research; and a member of the CESifo Research Network. He received a BA with Honours in History from the University of Chicago and an MA and PhD in Economics from the University of Pennsylvania.

Some of Professor Lichtenberg’s research has examined how the introduction of new technology arising from research and development affects the productivity of companies, industries, and nations. He has performed studies of the impact of pharmaceutical innovation on longevity, the effect of computers on productivity in business and government organizations, and the consequences of takeovers and leveraged buyouts for efficiency and employment. His articles have been published in numerous scholarly journals and in the popular press. His book Corporate Takeovers and Productivity has been published by MIT Press.

He was awarded the 1998 Schumpeter Prize for his paper, Pharmaceutical Innovation as a Process of Creative Destruction; the 2003 Milken Institute Award for Distinguished Economic Research for the paper, Pharmaceutical Knowledge-Capital Accumulation and Longevity; and Research!America’s 2010 Garfield Economic Impact Award for the paper, The effect of new cancer drug approvals on the life expectancy of American cancer patients, 1978-2004.

For more information, please see:


Meals will be provided. All other expenses, including transportation and lodging, are the participant’s responsibility. Selection of papers for presentation is done by a local scientific committee, based on submission of completed papers, not abstracts.

Ten papers will be accepted for presentation. The conference will consist of a full day of presentations on Wednesday May 27th, and a half-day of presentations on Thursday, May 28th. Each paper is allotted 45 minutes for the presentation, comments from a discussant, and general discussion. Submissions are invited from any geographical location.

For further information, please contact the local organizing committee at or visit

Local Organizers:

  • Dr. Audrey Laporte
  • Dr. Claire de Oliveira

Series Organizing Committee:

  • Co-Chair, Emma Piérard, University of Waterloo
  • Co-Chair, Logan McLeod, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Chris Auld, University of Victoria
  • Paul Grootendorst, University of Toronto
  • Pierre-Thomas Leger, HEC Montreal